Reviewing ‘The Age of Apollyon Trilogy,’ drunkenly: Intro

This is a somewhat spitefully motivated review. This author submitted a post to Speculative Faith, using his own trilogy as a talking point of how darkgritty Christian fiction could be (and presumably still be successful in that genre). Except the synopsis sounded like it was molded from at least a partial bulleted list of the paranoia-mongering from old, white, conservative Christian men and then filled with a blended puree of Frank Peretti and Ted Dekker. The summary on Amazon of the first book also offers some hints of gender essentialist bullshit. I don’t think it’s possible for me to resist mocking this.

However, there’s only so many times I can declare bullshit before I start boring everybody, so I’m going to use the shorthand version of making this a drinking game. One should not pass up a good gimmick. For every bullshit trope deployed, I will take a drink of some fruity chick drink, because I don’t like beer and prudence dictates that I shouldn’t do this with anything too strong. Worst case scenario, I might end up plastered just on 3%, especially because my pedigree is extensively Methodist. (The ability to dance or drink has been pretty well bred out of us. Or my ancestors became Methodist because they were already terrible at drinking or dancing. Either way.)

So, since this story involves Satanists, there are a plethora of tropes to contribute to a hangover. It’s also a dystopian, which has a few old-white-Christian tropes of its own (Double-drink for “mark of the beast” microchips for identification). And there’s quite a collection of run-of-the-mill bullshit tropes like “atheists are atheist just because they don’t want to follow morals,” which the Amazon summary also hinted at.

And if I’m wrong? Then there’s less bullshit in the world, and that is nothing to be sad about. And I will still have fruity chick drinks.

One thought on “Reviewing ‘The Age of Apollyon Trilogy,’ drunkenly: Intro

  1. Awesome, dude! I predict moderate tipsiness. But you should eat a piece of bread every time I flip a trope around. And just so you know what you’re getting into, there is no mark of the beast, no microchips, no mention of 666, no plagues, no rapture, no Antichrist, no great judgement…in fact, nothing that happens in the Book of Revelations is mentioned in this trilogy. You know, because that’s just for old-white-Christians ;-P

    Like

Leave a Reply

