Team Hori-senpai

I have found my anime crack. I would try snorting it if it came in powder form.

Monthly Girls’ Nozaki-kun is a sort of comedy that juggles multiple Sanity Balls and is about a group of high school students who help the titular Nozaki create his shoujo manga. It’s even better if you know the shoujo tropes they’re playing with like sugar-high toddlers with spaghetti, but the surprise-style humor is consistently funny (right up there with Phineas and Ferb or Adventure Time, and surprise humor is hard to do) and can stand on its own feet.

hori senpaiHori-senpai is my favorite. While all the characters have their moments of in/sanity, he’s the closest to being the Only Sane Man in the room, though Kashima does her best to chip the edges off his mental stability. I can’t really ship Hori and Kashima like we’re supposed to, because for all Kashima’s devotion, Hori seems like her keeper more than a peer. You can do better, Hori. You can certainly find someone with better impulse control.

One thought on “Team Hori-senpai

  1. Glad you liked it. I think I like Seo and Waka the best. That rooftop sequence where he’s trying to tell her to leave him alone but it all comes out opposite had me in stitches. I hope we’ll see a season two for it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

