Reviewing ‘Connect the Shapes’

I’m trying to be more cautious about the books I actually buy copies of, and that goes double for yarn-project books, because I don’t want to spend twenty bucks on a book with only a couple patterns I actually like in it.

I saw this book with ten thousand subtitles in a Barnes & Noble, but I checked it out from my awesome local library to see if it was worth buying. I decided it was within about 20 pages.

“Connect the Shapes Crochet Motifs: Creative Techniques for Joining Motifs of All Shapes” by Edie Eckman is perhaps a bit misleading as a title because 50 percent of the book is straight-up motif patterns, but it breaks up the usual pattern-book stuff by offering examples of how to join examples of individual motifs with sewing, single crochet, crochet chains, filler motifs, and join-as-you-go techniques, which makes it easily twice as useful as any other motif pattern book I’ve seen.

This author is obviously a fan of adaptation for greater creativity and will even point out how different effects can be achieved with the same motif by removing or adding a row. I really admire people who have that flexible kind of mind.

For more motif goodness, I also recommend this author’s “Beyond the Square Crochet Motifs” book. If she repeats herself at all between these books, it’s not by much. There are similar types of patterns between them, but they at least have different elaborations whether by picots, clusters, or spacings. Though how this woman can come up with about  250 different motifs is boggling me (~100 in Connect the Shapes, ~150 in Beyond the Square).

Just don’t buy them in e-book, like I did with “Beyond the Square” (but it was on sale!). It’s workable, but it’s a huge pain in the butt when the auto-format splits the picture from the instructions. Also, when I do find pattern books, I find that I like spiral-bound better than anything else.

Almost makes me wish I liked motifs more. It’s a delicate balance, to find a pattern that’s not too complicated to be relaxing yet not too easy to be boring.

Leave a Reply

