Quilting logic in yarn afghans

My maternal unit actually prefers quilting to crochet, so while I don’t do it myself, I do know the ways and means. So it’s natural for me to think of motif afghans in terms of quilting logic, and I’m experimenting with expanding that logic to log cabin-style afghans.

Most crochet and knitting patterns call for using the side of a finished block as the foundation for the next piece. I find that kind of limiting and/or unnecessarily complicated. Except they usually give the measurements in stitches and then I need to do the math to convert it all to inches and make sure I’m getting all the measurements right. And then there’s the complication of needing to sew all the blocks together, but while that’s a bit time-consuming, it’s not complicated.

Also if I run out of one color yarn, I prefer to just switch to a different block in a different color and not be held up until I get more yarn.

Take this free pattern from yarnspirations.com:

cascading-colors-mitered-blanket

I’ve converted it to knooking rather than a knitting pattern (knooking is the technique to knit with a hook, which is way easier on those of use who learned crochet first than trying to figure out knitting needles), and rather than cast on from the side of a finished square, I’m making them all separately. It also helps if I’m getting bored with navy and royal, I can switch to a light blue and white square.

I think it also downgrades it from an intermediate level difficulty to an easy, since all that are involved in making the squares are garter stitch and a center decrease. The easiest kind of hand-sewing I’ve done is with crocheted motifs, and I don’t expect knitted ones to be much if any more difficult. I also don’t anticipate that it would affect how the afghan looks as a completed piece.

One thing I have learned with retaking up crochet is that yarn needles are a tool worth purchasing. I had figured to just crochet all my pieces together, but sewing uses less yarn and offers greater flexibility. I was just afraid of turning into my mom with her drawers and drawers and boxes and boxes of sewing tools and accessories that would get used maybe once a year.

Leave a Reply

